What is ‘jurisdiction’? What are the ISO reciprocating jurisdictions?

When dealing with NS ISO, you will hear the words ‘jurisdiction’ and ‘reciprocating jurisdiction.’

  • Jurisdiction: when a court has jurisdiction, this means that they have the right to deal with the particular application being filed. Jurisdiction also means the geographic area over which a court has legal authority.

  • ISO reciprocating jurisdiction: a province, state or country that – like Nova Scotia – has agreed to use the ISO Act.

The following is a list of the other jurisdictions – like Nova Scotia – that use the ISO process AND use the regular ISO forms:

  1. All of Canada, except Quebec (Quebec will be discussed in the next chapter)

  2. All of the United States, including the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands

  3. Singapore

  4. Austria

  5. Germany

  6. Gibraltar

  7. Island of Guernsey

  8. Isle of Man

  9. Norway

  10. Poland

Was this page helpful?